The Abraham Lilienfeld Award

The College's most prestigious award is given in honor of Abraham Lilienfeld, a founder of the American College of Epidemiology and a renowned teacher and scholar. The Lilienfeld Award is conferred each year at the Annual Meeting. The Lilienfeld Award recipient is invited to address Fellows and Members of the College during the Annual Meeting. Lilienfeld Awardees are recognized as lifetime Honorary Fellows of the College. The awardee will receive a monetary prize and complementary annual meeting registration.

Eligibility Criteria

An eligible nominee should be a senior leader who has made extraordinary contributions to the field of epidemiology over the course of her/his career, through both teaching or mentoring and research or scholarship. Self‐nominations are not accepted.

Nomination Procedure

  • Nominations must be made by an active ACE member (Associate, Member, Fellow, Honorary Fellow, or Emeritus)
  • Nominations consist of a letter highlighting the nominee’s achievements and/or contributions pertinent to the award, and a current curriculum vitae
  • The nominator may include up to two supporting letters
  • Please supply complete nomination packages only

Past Lilienfeld Awardees

The American College of Epidemiology's most prestigious award is given in honor of Abraham Lilienfeld, outstanding teacher, scholar, and founder of the American College of Epidemiology. Fellows and members of the College are invited to nominate appropriate candidates for this honor. The College has conferred this award on the following distinguished epidemiologists:

1985 Milton Terris
1986 Alfred S. Evans
1987 George W. Comstock
1988 Lewis H. Kuller
1989 Leonard M. Schuman
1990 William H. Foege
1991 D.A. Henderson
1992 Richard Doll
1993 Joseph F. Fraumeni
1994 Barbara S. Hulka
1995 Charles H. Hennekens
1996 Patricia A. Buffler
1997 John M. Last 
1998 Frank E. Speizer
1999 Mervyn W. Susser
2000 Jacob A. Brody
2001 Brian MacMahon and Anthony B. Miller
2002 David Schottenfeld
2003 Elizabeth Barrett-Connor
2004 Manning Feinleib
2006 Robert Hoover
2007 Noel S. Weiss
2008 Roger Detels
2009 Louise A. Brinton
2010 Leslie Bernstein
2012 William Schaffner
2013 Michael B. Bracken 
2014 Kenneth J. Rothman
2015 Jonathan M. Samet 
2017 Roberta B. Ness
2018 Victor J. Schoenbach  
2019 Steven Goodman
2020 Graham A. Colditz
2021 Dana Dabelea
2022 Jiang He